## Professor T. Miyazaki was awarded Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize





The Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize is an annual award given by American Physics Society (APS) to recognize and encourage outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics.

In 2009, this Prize was shared by Prof. Miyazaki from WPI-AIMR (Tohoku University) along with three other professors from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (J. Moodera, P. Tedrow, and R. Meservey) for their pioneering works in the field of spin-dependent tunneling and for the application of these phenomena in the field of magneto electronics.

The prize is named in honor of Oliver E. Buckley, a former president of Bell Labs. Most Nobel Prize winners have got this prize previously. To mention a few, Shockley (1953) for transistor, Bardeen (1954), and Giaever (1973) for tunneling effect.

The ceremony was hold at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on 16th March 2009, and attended by most recipients with their family. The president of APS distributed the prizes to the winners.